M.I.A.

Song of the Post:  Amon Amarth – Guardians of Asgard

I have been M.I.A. for a while.  There has been a lot going on lately in game and out, so I have a lot to talk about!

In my quick update, I mentioned I was dealing with some guild drama.  It looks to be solved right now and I am glad it is done and over with.  We had 2 guildies that we were having problems with two different issues.  We will give them the names Bob and Tom (no relation to the radio show :-P). 

Bob was one of our tanks and was a really good player.  He came into our guild a couple of months before Wrath came out and was a neighbor to one of our friends.  He is Mr. Achieveables (or achievements)  and is obsessed with trying to get them all.  Now if that is what someone wants to do with their playing time, that’s fine.  You are paying for this game, so do what you want.  However, when Bob came into the guild, we told him that we are casual and raid whenever we get the people on.  We are not interested in maxing out, just do the raids and have fun and that we are not interested in expanding.  We just want to play with our RL friends. 

Well since we have cleared everything except for 3D sarth, he has been pushing to do achievements related to these instances.  The majority of us don’t really care to do them and, for example, do not want to tell 2 people that they have to sit out of a raid because someone wants to do 8 man Naxx.  He also attempted to try and convince the officers of the guild to merger with the guild that we had an alliance with and were doing 25 man raids with.  None of us wanted that because we wanted to keep our tight knit group and we did not feel the need that a merger was necessary.  After all of that, he decides to try and schedule “hard runs” without telling anyone and inviting only certain people.  This made the officers angry and trying to pull people from the guild without talking it over with everyone was not cool.  So after telling him that we were not happy about this, the next day he quits the guild.  I have no hard feelings about it and wish him luck with the guild we have an alliance with.  It was clear that he wanted more out of the game then we did, so it is for the best I think that he moved on.

Now Tom is the person that I had the big issue with.  He came into the before Bob did, but unlike Bob, he was a new player and a friend of a friend of someone in the guild that doesn’t play anymore.  He eventually leveled him to 80 after we had Naxx on farm and was asking about trying out raiding.  We said of course and had him on a few runs.  After those few runs, I noticed something about him that started to bother me.  His attitude.  If something went wrong during the run, he would start getting very angry at a screw.  In particular, he would do this on our 25 man raids with the other guild.  I had talked to him once before that he needed to calm down and that it is just a game.  We are gonna wipe sometimes. However Tom did not make any improvements and continued to be an asshat. 

The way we handled the next course of actions, I was not too proud of myself for.  But the next day after he blew up at one of the officers was the last straw.  We just gkicked him, telling him in guild chat that he was no longer needed and that his attitude had not improved.  We did not give him any chance to respond and started cheering while we were in vent.  It was after talking with one of the officers that we handled that situation very poorly.  Very immature to say the least.  So after a few days to where I could collect my thoughts, I talked to him about why we kicked him and he was able to tell me how he felt and thats all he wanted was someone to talk to.  He was thinking about leaving anyways knowing that he wasnt a great fit for our guild.  So at least it ended nicely between him and I.

Which leads me to why I haven’t been post a whole lot lately.  The whole situation above really dread playing the game and did not want to log on at all.  I was seriously thinking about cancelling my account thinking about the last 4 years of playing this game.  The fact that, I have been playing this game for so long!  But I think in the end, I just needed to take a break.  I had been playing way too much and neglecting things I could do in real life like, hangout with my wife and my friends.  So I have been cutting back a bit and leveling up my death knight.  Right now he is level 75 and I have been blowing through these levels, averaging about 4 hours a level.

With cutting back on my playing time, maybe I will have more time to actually write in this blog too :-P.

Leave a Reply

